The gender gap

Once again, Stemp (so when are you going to start blogging in English ? ;-)) reminded me of Joyce Park’s articles on venturebeat :
http://www.venturebeat.com/contributors/2007/01/02/the-hidden-engineering-gender-gap/
http://www.venturebeat.com/contributors/2007/01/04/a-modest-proposal/

This issue has also been discussed on LinuxChix mailing lists.
Two good papers discussing the lack of women in computer sciences and in Open Source area (I have already stated that, to me, it is also a more general lack of women in sciences altogether), studying Silicon Valley female tech entrepreneurs.
There is a big lack of self-taught female software engineers, when male engineers often start computer science as a hobby and eventually, with a lower degree or no degree at all, manage to get a job or run a company.
What she suggests is a one-year, non-degree, Silicon Valley-sponsored program for women (well something close to my post-doctoral experience in a big biology lab in the US), to help them starting as junior engineers. Hum … She got strong oppositions to this idea, even from liberal males. Surprised ?

I’m deeply thinking about all of his, about the bug #2 thread on ubuntuforums. I subscribed to LinuxChix and LinuxChixFr mailing lists. I guess I need some time to write some of my ideas down, and have them evolve to some form of proposal too :-)

